Online Course 2: ‘How to Spot the Cloud Species & Varieties’




Take the next step in becoming an expert cloudspotter. This course, which follows on from our course How to Spot the Ten Main Clouds, consists of 4 x 20-minute videos, each with quiz questions to help embed your learning. It will teach you how to recognise and identify all of the many species and varieties of cloud. You can think of these as subdivisions of the ten main types of cloud. Some relate to the particular cloud shapes, some to patterns in the elements of a cloud, among other characteristics.

Learning the species and varieties can help you understand the hidden movements of winds in our atmosphere and can, in some cases, help you forecast the weather in store.

On finishing this course and passing the cloudspotting quizzes you will be able to download your own Cloud Appreciation Society course completion certificate.

This course is free to Cloud Appreciation Society members with active subscriptions. (You can login here)

Additional information

1 review for Online Course 2: ‘How to Spot the Cloud Species & Varieties’

  1. Wim van Huffelen avatar

    Wim van Huffelen

    Both fun and informative – for beginning & more experienced cloudspotters. With some beautiful photos of clouds!

Add a review

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.