Rarest Clouds?

Rarest Clouds?

Forums The Cloud Forum Rarest Clouds?

Tagged: 

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Samuel Stead avatarSamuel Stead
      Participant

Since I’m new to the Society (only started up my account today) I thought I’d ask a question that most newbies ask.

As I am well aware, there are dozens, if not hundreds of cloud formations. And some are more rare than others. But what are the rarest? Which ones, when spotted, will cause onlookers to whoop with joy. As I don’t usually get cool looking clouds where I am, I do not know. Does anyone here?

Howard Brown avatarHoward Brown
      Participant

Hi, Samuel, and welcome. I don’t have a straight answer to your question, but….

In The Cloud Collector’s Handbook, by CAS founder Gavin Pretor-Pinney, 2009, each cloud type is awarded Cloud-Collecting Points. I would have thought rare ones would score highly.

E.g. Pileus pp 42-43 scores a high 45 but because it is short-lived rather than rare. It so happens those pages make several references to Donald Trump – how prescient can you be..

George Preoteasa avatarGeorge Preoteasa
      Participant

Hi Samuel, I am also a relatively new joiner, since last August. The rarest is the cloud or optical phenomenon that you cannot see in your area. For me, at 40 degrees of latitude, that would be the stratospheric clouds. But if you are way up north, that may be a funnel cloud. (Though a quick google search shows there are tornadoes in Norway.)

I have the CloudSpoter app on my phone and I am still hunting for fog. It’s been very dry here. Not that I have never seen fog…

So, really, why are you asking? Is this like asking what’s the highest peak? The journey is the reward, keep looking and you will see wonderful, rare, possibly strange things.

Michael Lerch avatarMichael Lerch
      Participant