Cloud I took a picture of, what is it?

Cloud I took a picture of, what is it?

Forums Cloud Identification Help Cloud I took a picture of, what is it?

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Amy Hamill avatarAmy Hamill
      Participant

I saw these clouds outside in the afternoon, what are they?
      (This is my first post here! I’m happy to be in the society.mysteryclouds)

Inactive

I’ll take a shot but I’m not an expert. I think this is cirrocumulus undulatus but that doesn’t take into account the criss-cross pattern creating the fantastic zig-zags. There may be an additional bit of latin for that! Try browsing the ICA that Gavin put at the top of the general forums list.

Participant

Tony, thank you for the information! I didn’t think undulatus instantly due to it looking a little bit like altocumulus, but after some research and your side of the story, pretty sure you are right, good day! :)

Edit after a bit more research: I’ve probably pinpointed that it is altocumulus undulantus! Cirrocumulus undulantus still looks amazing, though!

• This reply was modified 6 months, 1 week ago by Amy Hamill avatarVivid.
      • This reply was modified 6 months, 1 week ago by Amy Hamill avatarVivid. Reason: To update on estimated results after researching
      Michael Lerch avatarMichael Lerch
      Participant

“duplicatus” might be appropriate. You have at least two different levels of cloud. The wider ridges are above the thinner grayer  cloud ridges .The wind currents that create all this undulates  in different directions make the zig zag so much fun. Each undulatus represents two different wind directions. So when there are undulations going in  a bunch of different directions  we are seeing eddy and whirlpools at every elevation…ok, maybe..

Participant

Thank you for the information, Michael! I’m not an absolute cloud expert, so I appreciate your side of the story very well and I will find more information on the subject, good day!