Community Pages

Please accept our new Terms & Conditions before contributing to our Community Pages. Any content you contribute will be publicly visible. We expect contributors to show respect, courtesy and an appreciation of the atmosphere we all share.

Filter Photos:

You have selected:

Main Cloud Types

Other Clouds

Optical Effects


Lesson 1.2

Altocumulus clouds at sunset spotted over Ibipora, Parana, Brazil by Ercília Fernandes (Member 56,106)

Lesson 1.2

The Ten Main Clouds

It’s time to get more specific about cloudspotting.

Lesson Objective: This lesson is about learning to recognise the ten main types of cloud (known officially as cloud ‘genera’). Students will find out what makes them different and what similarities there are between the different ones. They will choose favourite ones to paint or create with collages. Students will learn definitions of feelings and how to observe feelings like they’re learning to observe clouds.

Download lesson plan:


Web Resources:

Websites to be added here…